Story: A Weird Call for a Paramedic….This is strange

Posted: January 17, 2012 in News and Articles

Here is my story, it falls into the Weird category.

I was a brand new medic, fresh out of school for 6 months. I felt like I new everything and also felt like I didn’t know anything. I was scared to death every time the tones went off. One night at 3:00am the tones went off for a “Unconcious Man” Got in the box and went off to the call. Dispatch anounced that it was for a man who had no pulse and the locals were performing CPR. That sudden chill goes down my spine, butterflies in the stomach. You see, I have done CPR in the hospital at my clinical rotations, but none like the one I was going to experience. We arrived on seen to find two bystanders performing CPR on what appeared to be a conscious person. The man appeared to be about 50 years old, eyes open and looking around. I immediately told the bystanders to stop CPR. My exact words were “Are you trying to kill this damn man” As soon as they stopped the man closed his eyes. I checked pulse, none. Told my partners to start CPR. Got the Lifepack out for quick look. Shows Asystole. OK, Intubate, IV. Started pushing the EPI, and the man started opening his eyes again. This wasn’t a casual eye open, it was both eyes open and looking around and most errrrrie of all he looked right at me. Well why not, I was the one talking to him right. OK, “Stop CPR” I called out. Yet again he went back to being pulseless. By the second time this happened we were loading and going code 3 to the ER. We did this same routine about 3 other times in route to the ER with our 15 minutes transport time. CareFlite was unavailable by the way. This was freaking me out. Every time we would stop CPR he would go pulseless and every time we continued he would look around at his surroundings and have agonal respirations. I called MC told them what we had, and of course they did not believe me. By the time we got to the ER we had pushed about 7mgs of EPI and 4mg of Atropine, and 50 meq Bicarb. Not once did we defib because he stayed in Asystole except for the occasional artifact on the monitor most of which was caused by the CPR and weak pulse underneath. Busted through the ER and of course we took the ER by surprise. Most of the nurses of course don’t listen to a damn thing us medics tell them anyway. The doctor was taken by surprise also. He couldn’t beleive what he was seeing. A concsious patient with CPR being performed on him. The doctor yelled at us “What the hell are you doing”, “STOP CPR” As if to say, you medics are killing this patient. Now I know how those bystanders felt. The ER worked on him for at least an hour. Now there were 5 doctors in the ER trying to decide how to help him. They all agreed that there was nothing surgically that could be done. I never will forget what happened next. The doctors had exhausted all means including giving massive doses of EPI and defibrillating this patient. The nurses continued CPR and the patient looked around at every nurse as if to say “Don’t let me DIE!!” The patients wife and kids waited outside and could hear everything that was going on in the room. I tried to take them to the waiting room but they would not have it. The CPR continued and the man looked right at the doctor. These words still ring in my head. “Mr.Schmidt……Mr.Schmidt…..can you hear me.” He blinked at the doctor. “We are going to stop CPR…….we can do nothing more” My heart sank as I saw the man’s eyes open larger than I ever saw them before. The doctor told the nurses to stop one more time. Mr.Schmidt slowly closed his eyes for the last time. Mr.Schmidt’s wife yelled with despair.

According to the doctor this was the first he had ever seen. The CPR was giving Mr.Schmidt’s brain enough oxygen to become conscious.

This was trully an “Eye Opening Experience”

Unknown Author

Comments
  1. Robin Ferguson says:

    I am sorry this pt passed on. Physio now have a device called Lucas which is an automated chest compression system. Perhaps it would have been usefull in this case?

Leave a Reply

